It’s Da’eef?? It’s Fabricated??

Assalamu’alaikum,

This week I had 2 shocks to my brain.

I was listening to some lectures and came to know that the various versions of hadiths, pertaining to 2 particular issues, that I’ve seen people implementing and quoting so often are actually da’eef (weak), da’eef jiddan (very weak) and even maudhu’ (fabricated).

The first issue is that of whether or not the adhan should be called in the right ear of a newborn baby, as well as the iqaamah in the left ear of the baby. Personally I’ve never heard about the iqaamah part before, but I always heard relatives talks about calling the adhan in the ears of all the newborns we’ve had, Alhamdulillah, in the family so far. Some of the hadiths pertaining to this are da’eef, some are da’eef jiddan and some fabricated :O Don’t take my word for it, check it out yourself: http://islamqa.info/en/7889 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OkmnqcQ50Do https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxNNXumM08E (from 8:16- 14:25)

The next issue is that of divorce. I’ve heard the hadith about how the most hated lawful thing to Allah is divorce many times, and have heard it being used against either spouse that wanted to end their marriage due to the inability to remain within the limits of Allah and fulfill their obligations. Yesterday as I was on the bus listening to a lecture, my jaw dropped open when the lecturer said that this hadith was weak. I couldn’t believe it. But yes, it’s true. Check it out

 

-A.

Leave a Reply

