Peach Galette

Assalamu’alaikum 🙂

image

My list of favourite desserts is getting way too big.

I mean, this crust was just out of this world Alhamdulillah. I could’ve eaten the entire galette all on my own. 😍

I wasnt expecting it to be sooo nice. My task was just to use up 9 small white peaches we had, which I wasnt so keen on doing given the amount of coring and slicing involved.

But it was sooo worth it!

Oh by the way, if you’re wondering why the picture is kind of yellow, it’s cuz I turned on the spotlight 😛 It was dark outside and the regular light didn’t make it look nice 😝

image

I love the pastry so much 😍 I literally had to hold myself back from eating all of it, so that the others could try it. Just look at the texture of the crust…

image

Here’s how we made it…bear in mind im quite lazy, so I know I didnt follow the pastry rule book to the T 😝 Sorry…but it still tasted awesome 😎

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
100g butter, cubed and chilled
4 tbsp water

Filling:

3 blobs of raspberry pomegranate jam, or any other jam you fancy
4-5 small white peaches, or about 2-3 large ones
3 tbsp sugar
1 tsp cinnamon powder
1 tbsp flour
1 egg
coarse sugar to sprinkle

Directions:

Dump the flour, salt and sugar into the food processor, pulse to mix.

Add in the butter and pulse till coarse breadcrumb texture.

Add in the water and pulse till dough combines.

Turn out onto clean surface, knead slightly to bring dough together, then wrap in cling film and refrigerate while you prep everything else.

Halve, core and thinly slice peaches. Toss them with sugar, cinnamon and flour. Set aside.

Take out the pastry and between a sheet of baking paper and the cling film you wrapped it in, roll it out into a 12 inch circle. Transfer your circle with the baking paper underneath it to a baking tray.

Spread the jam to make a 9 inch circle on the dough, then arrange the peaches nicely. I like mine really stuffed with peaches 🙂

Pull the edges of the pastry over the peaches, overlapping the dough as you go round.

Beat the egg and brush it onto the pastry.

Sprinkly the whole thing with coarse sugar.

Bake in oven preheated to 220 degrees C for about 20 min, or until golden brown.

It nice both warm and cold 🙂

Enjoy!

image

-A.

Leave a Reply

